Portfolio - a new artist development programme

Call deadlines: 3 December 2012

Portfolio is a Sound and Music artist development programme.

Sound and Music’s Portfolio scheme provides a key development opportunity for composers to create new work with and for some of the UK’s leading ensembles and presenters of new music. Portfolio enables them to develop their creative portfolio of compositions and gain vital artistic and practical insight and experience in both working with professional ensembles and presenting organisations, and delivering new work to public audiences.

Selected composers are invited to develop a small-scale, short new work for a leading UK organisation. These are developed through a series of workshops during which the composer will work in close collaboration with the performers supported by an experienced composer mentor. The process culminates in a public performance of the new works within the ensemble’s performance schedule.

As part of Sound and Music’s Portfolio programme, we are currently offering three programmes:

Ensemble 10/10

Ensemble 10/10 10 was founded by two RLPO members, clarinettist Nicholas Cox and cellist Hilary Browning. Since its first concert on 22 November 1997 at 10.10pm, it has become established as a regular feature of Liverpool concert life, under the baton of conductor Clark Rundell. 10/10’s concerts are an eclectic mixture of new commissions, world premieres and contemporary classics given in an informal atmosphere. 10/10 explores the best new music from around the world, but equally it actively supports local composers – concerts always include music from the North West.


Vocal trio Juice are at the forefront of the UK’s experimental/classical
scene, performing new vocal music which draws on classical, world music,
jazz, folk, pop, improvisation and theatre. juice are Anna Snow
(soprano), Sarah Dacey (soprano) and Kerry Andrew (alto).

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment - Night Shift

OAE are known for their period-specific instruments but this is just one element of its quest for authenticity. Over the last 20 years they have questioned and challenged orchestral norms and continue to push for change, whilst striving for excellence, diversity and exploration. The successful composers would be working with a string quartet from OAE.

The Night Shift is a unique classical night, brought to you by the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment. Running since 2006, it puts great classical music in a different context: late-night, laid-back and contemporary. An hour-long classical concert, presented from the stage is the centrepiece but is bookended by other live performances and DJs.

These three calls are all now closed but please keep an eye on our projects and opportunities pages for further opportunities. 

In Partnership with:




Liverpool Philharmonic



Application Materials

Download the Ensemble 10/10 call and application form here

Download the Juice call and application form here

Download the OAE - Night Shift call and application form here


Fundraising Regulator
Sound and Music|3rd Floor, South Wing, Somerset House, London WC2R 1LA|Tel +44 (0)20 7759 1800||Registered Charity: 1124609|VAT Reg No: 937 5533 96 

Designed by Fitzroy & Finn|Built by Platform3|Copyright © Sound and Music 2016